The Barley House – Concord

CP Rocks a Mustache Do you have a bucket list?  So does my mother-in-law!  She’s always wanted to go dog sledding, so our Christmas gift was a family dog sledding trip at Muddy Paw, which we did today.  On the way home, we stopped at the Barley House in Concord for dinner and Irish Coffee.  The Barley House serves up tavern-style food with good separation between the bar and dining room.  At 5pm on Saturday, we easily found a table in the bar area for our party of six (the dining room wasn’t on a wait either).  Parking might be tricky – you have to try your luck with street parking, but we had no problem.

Water refilling, which can make or break a restaurant for me, was excellent.  I never had an empty glass, and at one point, our server brought over several pitchers to leave on the table.  Complimentary snacks are another big feature for me.  I really enjoy munching tasty morsels as I await my meal, and the Barley House has some of the best.  Crispy bread sticks and pretzels with a hummus spread, heavy on garlic.  I ate so much I wasn’t sure I could handle my dinner (or speak directly at my in-laws).

My corn chowder lacked flavor and was weak on my favorite ingredient, corn.  I did not clean my plate (well, bowl).  The Portabella Panini, on the other hand, was excellent.  Crispy bread, roasted veggies, cheese, tasty hummus (more garlic, apologies to Hubby)…full of flavor.  SO. GOOD. The sweet potato fries were sweet and salty, and didn’t need to be dipped in anything to be enjoyed  (although the $2 up-charge from regular fries was a bit steep, especially considering the small portion size).

"Only Irish coffee provides in a single glass all four essential food groups: alcohol, caffeine, sugar and fat." ~Alex Levine

We wrapped up our evening with what every good Irish family needs: Irish coffee.They arrived complete with a head of homemade cream, which quickly become a mustache.  The family that drinks together stays together!

I will eat here again.  Good food, affordable prices, and the tasty garlic will ensure vampire protection.   ¡Buen provecho!

CP4Less:  Check out Good Eats for a discounted Barley House gift certificate or register for the Barley House e-newsletter.  They occasionally send out coupons, and send a nice one on your birthday.

“Only Irish coffee provides in a single glass all four essential food groups: alcohol, caffeine, sugar and fat.” ~Alex Levine
This entry was posted in Concord and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Barley House – Concord

  1. Mustache Mug says:

    lol, love the picture of everyone with an Irish coffee mustache!

Leave a Reply

