Firefly American Bistro and Bar – Manchester

Country Music Got it Right By day- and nights, and weekends- I’m a music teacher.  Considering that I have my undergrad and masters, you’d think I’d have very refined music taste.  Beethoven Symphonies.  Vivaldi Concertos.  I do love the classics, but when I need a little spring in my step, they don’t do it for me.  I’m sure admitting this is breaking some form of music teacher decorum, but there is nothing like a high steppin’ country song to get my feet tapping and my spirit singing.  Ironically, in college, country was one of the only genres I avoided.  Now, poor hubby, also a music teacher but with actual music teacher-y preferences, just chuckles when he walks in on me rockin’ and rollin’ to Luke Bryan singing “rain is a good thingrain makes corn, corn makes whiskey, whiskey makes my baby- get a little frisky.”  So readers, why shamefully admit this to you?  Because it turns out, when it comes to Firefly, I should have heeded the advice of country’s Alan Jackson (covering Jimmy Buffett) and accepted that “It’s 5 o’clock somewhere.”

Dirty Pumpkin Martini

Hubby and I are at Firefly for lunch to – surprise! – celebrate my birthday again.  Inform the server it’s your day and voila, free dessert.  On my last visit, I tried a Dirty Pumpkin martini, which was a delightful way to drink a pumpkin pie.  Behold a few selections on their Martini menu:  Peartini, Dark Chocolate, White Chocolate, Crème Brule, Chocolate Raspberry, Apple Pie, Blueberry Coffee Cake, and Pumpkin Harvest.  I gazed longingly at the drink menu, but didn’t feel right ordering one at noon, especially since I was planning on being productive when I returned home.

Firefly has their own parking lot, which is unusual for downtown Manchester.  There was no wait and after being seated, I went to the restrooms – and I didn’t want to leave.  I need their bathroom at my house.  It’s peacefully decorated, clean, cute and relaxing.

There are no free snacks at lunch, although I think there’s bread during dinner.  Their lunch menu offers several descriptive sandwich options for around $8 each.  I channeled my Guatemalan roots and ordered the Black Bean Burger with sweet potato fries but apparently they did not channel Guatemala’s love of seasoning.  The Burger fell flat, with no predominant flavor to encourage me to take another bite.  Hubby ordered the French Dip Sandwich (roast beef, swiss cheese, horseradish) with onion rings, which I pounced on.  I could feel my arteries clogging with every bite, but I happily clogged away (had I been dancing in clogs, my arteries may have been alright).  I didn’t try the sandwich (not a fan of horseradish) but he claimed it was good.

For dessert, I ordered chocolate mousse.  You’ll notice the ‘Happy Birthday’ icing is gone – I gracefully finger-ate that too.  The mousse itself was a good choice, but it was served atop of a mountain of Oreo crumbs.  I would have preferred less- and sprinkled on top or mixed in.  I ate the mousse and then ended up spooning mouthfuls of dry Oreos in my mouth, which ruined the memory of the creamy mousse.

Firefly’s food, both the meal and dessert, were ordinary.  The menu reads better than the food actually was.   I’ve heard their Sunday brunch is excellent and their Go-Go Bread app has won accolades, so next time I’ll order a martini and try the Go-Go.  I know from prior visits that their drinks are superior, so if you visit, consider heeding Jimmy Buffet’s advice and order a drink regardless of your time zone.  It is 5’o clock somewhere!

¡Buen provecho!

CP4Less: I haven’t found any deals for Firefly other than on a birthday.
Keep it Local: unknown
This entry was posted in Manchester and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firefly American Bistro and Bar – Manchester

  1. Katie Gonyea says:

    I hate to correct you but in the beginning its not Toby Keith who sings “rain makes corn, corn makes wiskey”… It was Luke Bryan saw him open for Rascal Flatts 😉

Leave a Reply

